White Girls

So as a black woman in the LGBT community, I have this on and off again conflict within myself with wanting engage in relationships with white women. The reasons are very simple… My bubbly positive not giving a fuck side thinks that I should go for it while my militant black nationalist side warns me to beware of the she-beast.

When I was a youth, I would always make these inappropriate shock valuesque statements about how I was going to marry Lindsay Lohan (per-drugs and tragedy) and run away happily ever after. This was also during a time in which I was entering an arena where I surrounded myself with “radical” people of colour that were NOT having that. Whilst learning about deconstructing oppressive systems within a social construct, it was made clear that there was no room for lusting after the oppressors female counterpart.

I began to tap into my internalised racism and constantly ask myself why I would want to be with a white woman over a woman of colour and of course the reasons were based on unsubstantiated stereotypes and media images as a result of a Eurocentric dominated world.

Now these days, I’m revisiting this subject in a somewhat tongue in cheek type of way where I use the stereotypes of white women as a way to justify my overall decisions as far as looking for potential girlfriends. Some of the reasons I came up with are:

A white woman will make me my favourite food when I’m feeling down.

A white woman would take the occasional trip to the comic book store or go with me to buy video games a d at least pretend to be interested.

A white woman will be able to get us a cab in a timely manner should we ever visit New York on holiday.

She will also respect my gender expression.

She also won’t make fun of me for loving George Michael so much.

Even my brother made the suggestion to me not too long ago that i shod find a nice white woman who will appreciate things as opposed to the women that i have been engaging with over the last year. I will keep revisiting this subject as the days progress, since this is merely an introduction to an ongoing theme.

2 responses

  1. As a white girl who has had serious relationships with both a white girl and a black girl I’ll tell you one thing: it doesn’t make any difference. Things might be different here in Australia but honestly the only difference I noted was that my black girlfriend was a lot more family-oriented and not just immediate family – extended family. Cousins, Aunts, second-Uncles-three-times-removed. Other than that, it’s down to the person. I really think that if you truly believe in equality then the colour of your partner’s skin doesn’t even matter. It doesn’t play a factor. Until right now, I’d never even thought of them as my “white” girlfriend or my “black” girlfriend until I just read your post.

    February 20, 2013 at 10:25 am

    • I am wanting to consider dating again, and this is a topic that is reoccurring. I want to experience things with an open mind though and not be completely dismissive.

      February 20, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Leave a comment