Black Nationalism

This has turned unfortunately into a bullshit social construct. Now granted, there are a few people that I know who actually do good work that uplifts the black community, however about 90 percent of the rest of the population fuck it up for everybody else.

Back when I was a youth and had an affinity for doing social justice work, I had various run ins from black folks who thought they was doing shit, but really weren’t. The most that they did was say that the reason why shit is bad is because black people need more
Jesus. If you know me, you know that I am convinced that Christianity is the highest form of internalized racism and would naturally find this problematic. The other problem would be some of the inter generational conflicts. They weren’t interested in youth development, but rather just keeping the kids off the street, and not giving them anything useful to function in society. Let’s not get into the negative attitudes for promoting being sex positive and the ideas of harm reduction. I actually heard someone say that you could get aids from sweating on someone. I was done at that point.

I had also made the mistake of talking to someone who possessed this construed philosophy. She epitomized everything that I wasn’t feeling about black women. In my defiance, the experience made me explore my internalized oppressions. I wanted to not pass judgement, but she only reinforced negative stereotypes of black women. Complaining, being late, being ungrateful, belittling… I could go on. The irony of course was her constantly griping about being left for a white girl.

I really don’t know what the problem is, but the community needs to get it together.

Leave a comment